Stöbern Sie durch unsere Angebote (78 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Open Secret
€ 11.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

During her career in MI5, which lasted from 1969 to 1996, Stella Rimington worked in all the main fields of the Service´s responsibilities - counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism - and became successively Director of all three branches.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 20, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Visitor
€ 7.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Sergeant Amy Callan and Lieutnant Caroline Cook have a lot in common. High-flying army career women, both are victims of sexual harassment from their superiors; both are forced to resign from the service. And now they are both dead. Jack Reacher, a former US military cop, has to answer the burning questions: how did these women die? And why?

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
America´s Sherlock Holmes (eBook, ePUB)
€ 13.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

William Burns is best known as ?America?s Sherlock Holmes? and became director at the Bureau of Investigation, to be immediately followed by J. Edgar Hoover. But before he became director, Burns had a long, highly publicized career as a government detective for the Secret Service, then as the head of the famed Burns International Detective Agency, which he founded after leaving government service. These successes encouraged Burns to start his own agency and he successfully competed with his hated rival, the Pinkerton Detective Agency. He was a public hero for many years (except among labor union men who remembered his questionable tactics in the notorious McNamara case involving the bombing of the Los Angeles Times). But to the general populace, he was a white knight protecting the public interest until he disgraced his government office.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19) (e...
€ 0.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nevada Barr´s nineteenth Anna Pigeon mystery, Boar Island , is a gripping novel that transports you to the wild and dangerous landscape of Acadia National Park. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Paul Doiron. ´Gripping... harrowing... a moving, suspenseful, fast-paced novel... shimmering with vibrant life and originality´ - Cleveland Plain Dealer Anna Pigeon, in her career as a National Park Service Ranger, has had to deal with all manner of crimes and misdemeanours, but cyber-bulling and stalking is a new one. The target is Elizabeth, the adopted teenage daughter of her friend Heath Jarrod. Elizabeth is driven to despair by the disgusting rumours spreading online and bullying texts. Until, one day, Heath finds her daughter Elizabeth in the midst of an unsuccessful suicide attempt. And then she calls in the cavalry - her aunt Gwen and her friend Anna Pigeon. The three adults decide the best thing to do is to remove Elizabeth from the situation and, since Anna is about to start her new post as Acting Chief Ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, they join her and stay at a house on the cliff of a small island near the park, Boar Island. But the move doesn´t solve the problem. The stalker has followed them. And Heath (a paraplegic) and Elizabeth aren´t alone on the otherwise deserted island. At the same time, Anna has barely arrived at Acadia before a brutal murder is committed by a killer uncomfortably close to her... ´Ms. Barr´s amazing writing and character development sucked me in and I went on the most amazing adventure ´ ´An exciting, twisting novel´ ´[I] excitedly anticipated the next page. I couldn´t put Boar Island down ´

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
Free Prize Inside!: How to Make a Purple Cow
€ 13.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

How to find the soft innovation that will make your product, service, school, church, or career worth talking about. We live in an era of too much noise, too much clutter, too many choices, and too much spam. And as Seth Godin´s 200,000-copy bestseller Purple Cow taught the business world, the old ways of marketing simply don´t work anymore. The best way to sell anything these days is through word of mouth and the only real way to get word of mouth is to create something remarkable. Free Prize Inside, the sequel to Purple Cow, explains how to do just that. It´s jammed with practical ideas you can use right now to make your product or service remarkable, so that it will virtually sell itself. Remember when cereal came with a free prize inside? Even if you already liked the cereal, it was the little plastic toy that made it irresistible. Godin explains how you can think of a bonus that will make your customers feel just as excited, no matter what business you?re in. Consider these free prizes: ? The Tupperware party, which turned buying plastic bowls into a social event ? Flintstones vitamins, which turned a serious product into something fun ? The free change-counting machine at every Commerce Bank branch ? The little blue box from Tiffany, which makes people happy before they even open it This book offers a way to create free prizes quickly, cheaply, and reliably and persuade others in your organization to help you bring them to life.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 20, 2019
Zum Angebot
About Face
€ 26.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

He joined the army at 15 and is today America´s most decorated living soldier. In one of the most extraordinary military memoirs of our time, About Face chronicles the wars of David H. Hackworth--from World War II to his opposition to U.S. tactics and goals in Vietnam. Photographs. Chronicles the military career of America´s most decorated living soldier, from his enlistment of age fifteen, through his service in Vietnam, where his growing disillusionment with American policies led to his post-war exile in Australia

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Last of the Priestleys (eBook, ePUB)
€ 3.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Priestleys have been described as ?one of the most noted athletic families in this section of the country in a generation.? This unique tribute described four brothers, whose potential professional hockey and football careers with the Chicago Black Hawks, Toronto Maple Leafs, and Philadelphia Eagles were cut short by their service with the United States military during World War II. The sports they excelled in ranged from ice hockey, football, baseball, track, and golf. Despite the travails of the Great Depression and World War II, this family overcame unbearable personal tragedies and traumas to lead successful lives that inspired their era and to this day.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Drop
€ 9.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´It is time Mick Herron was recognised in his own right as the best thriller writer in Britain today´ Sunday ExpressOld spooks carry the memory of tradecraft in their bones, and when Solomon Dortmund sees an envelope being passed from one pair of hands to another in a Marylebone cafe, he knows he´s witnessed more than an innocent encounter. But in relaying his suspicions to John Bachelor, who babysits retired spies like Solly, he sets in train events which will alter lives. Bachelor himself, a hair´s breadth away from sleeping in his car, is clawing his way back to stability; Hannah Weiss, the double agent whose recruitment was his only success, is starting to enjoy the secrets and lies her role demands; and Lech Wicinski, an Intelligence Service analyst, finds that a simple favour for an old acquaintance might derail his career. Meanwhile, Lady Di Taverner is trying to keep the Service on an even keel, and if that means throwing the odd crew member overboard, well: collateral damage is her speciality. A drop, in spook parlance, is the passing on of secret information. It´s also what happens just before you hit the ground.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Drop (eBook, ePUB)
€ 7.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´It is time Mick Herron was recognised in his own right as the best thriller writer in Britain today´ Sunday Express Old spooks carry the memory of tradecraft in their bones, and when Solomon Dortmund sees an envelope being passed from one pair of hands to another in a Marylebone cafe, he knows he´s witnessed more than an innocent encounter. But in relaying his suspicions to John Bachelor, who babysits retired spies like Solly, he sets in train events which will alter lives. Bachelor himself, a hair´s breadth away from sleeping in his car, is clawing his way back to stability; Hannah Weiss, the double agent whose recruitment was his only success, is starting to enjoy the secrets and lies her role demands; and Lech Wicinski, an Intelligence Service analyst, finds that a simple favour for an old acquaintance might derail his career. Meanwhile, Lady Di Taverner is trying to keep the Service on an even keel, and if that means throwing the odd crew member overboard, well: collateral damage is her speciality. A drop, in spook parlance, is the passing on of secret information. It´s also what happens just before you hit the ground.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
Not Quite A Diplomat (eBook, ePUB)
€ 14.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Described as Mrs Thatcher?s favourite diplomat, Robin Renwick was at the centre of events in the negotiations to end the Rhodesian War. As Ambassador in South Africa, he played a bridging role between the government and the ANC, having become a trusted personal friend of Nelson Mandela and of F. W. de Klerk.In the Foreign Office, he played an integral part in forging the agreement that returned two thirds of our contribution to the European budget back to Britain.In Washington, where he became a confidant of George Bush Sr, then of Bill Clinton, he was deemed an exceptionally influential British Ambassador whose efforts were devoted to getting the US and its allies to take the actions needed to end the Bosnian War.Not Quite A Diplomat looks back over an illustrious career in the foreign service and paints vivid and revealing first-hand portraits of some of the giants of international politics over the past forty years, from Mandela and Mugabe to George Bush Sr, the Clintons and Margaret Thatcher. In this entertaining memoir, Renwick examines why diplomacy too often consists of ineffective posturing, and explores the likely effects of Brexit, Trump and, potentially, Jeremy Corbyn on Britain?s standing in the world.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Feb 19, 2019
Zum Angebot